Clubs and Organizations at Finlandia University

Finlandia University students participate in a wide variety of student-run clubs and organizations. Students wishing to form a club or organization should submit a proposal to the Student Senate (senate@finlandia.edu) using the guidelines below. Approved clubs/organization may request startup funding or funding for special events by submitting a proposal for funding to the Student Senate.

Alpha lambda delta honor society

Advisors:  Hilary Virtanen, hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu and Richard Gee, richard.gee@finlandia.edu

Army ROTC

Finlandia University students may participate in the Army ROTC program offered through Michigan Technological University in Houghton, Michigan, in accordance with provisions of a collaborative agreement. Scholarships are available to qualified baccalaureate degree-seeking Finlandia University students who participate in ROTC courses. For information, contact the Finlandia University Office of Financial Aid at (906) 487-7240.

Black Student Union

Advisor: Lean Fogle, leann.fogle@finlandia.edu
Facebook Page: facebook.com/FinnUniBSU/
Mission: The Black Student Union Club is a place for ALL students to gather and exchange culture, ideas and experiences. With the diversity of our student population, other students can use to gain a better understanding of how other cultures live in order to better serve the community in which they represent and come from.

Business Professionals of America Chapter

Advisor: Kevin Manninen, kevin.manninen@finlandia.edu
Website: http://www.finlandia.edu/bpa
Mission: The mission of Business Professionals of America is to contribute to the preparation of global professionals through the advancement of leadership, citizenship, academic, and technological skills.

Campus Ministry

Advisor:  Sarah.semmlersmith@finlandia.edu

Criminal Justice and Sociology Club (CJSOC)

Advisors: Dr.Richard Gee

Finlandia Business Club

Advisor: Kevin Manninen, kevin.manninen@finlandia.edu
Mission: The Finlandia Business Club provides students with the opportunity to interact with business leaders, experts and entrepreneurs by inviting guest speakers to campus and hosting other activities that enhance the experiential learning of  Finlandia students. The FBC also takes a leading role in organizing the Keweenaw Job Fair every spring.

First-Year Honor Society

Advisors: Hilary Virtanen, hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu and Erin Barnett, erin.barnett@finlandia.edu

Helsinki Slang

Advisor: Mark Lounibos mark.lounibos@finlandia.edu
Mission: This student creative writing group hosts workshops, National Novel Writing Month write-ins, and other events. It publishes a campus literary magazine of the same name.

Leijona Martial Arts Club

Advisor: Carolyn Dekker Carolyn.dekker@finlandia.edu
Mission: Provide martial arts instruction, competition and travel opportunities for Soo Bahk Do students, and practice space and community for martial artists from other backgrounds.

Lion’s Pride

Advisor: Carolyn Dekker Carolyn.dekker@finlandia.edu
Mission: An organization for Queer people and allies in the Finlandia student, faculty, staff population and for local teens, Lion’s Pride seeks to be a safe haven, travel to local events of interest, host supportive social hangouts, open  discussion, coordinate resource gathering with the library, and disseminate information on local resources.

Physical Therapist Assistant

Advisor: Nicole Polakowski, nicole.polakowski@finlandia.edu

Servant Leadership House

Advisor: Rene Johnson, rene.johnson@finlandia.edu

Student Nurses Association

Advisor: Theresa Rajala-Halsey, theresa.rajalahalsey@finlandia.edu

STUDENT SENATE

Website: http://www.finlandia.edu/student-affairs/clubs-and-organizations/student-senate/

 Young Women’s Caucus

Advisor: Phyllis Fredendall, phyllis.fredendall@finlandia.edu