fbpx
Arts & Sciences

Associates in General Studies

Associates in General Studies

Earn your A.G.S. and open the door to numerous opportunities

 

Learn More Today!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly to help you schedule a visit, start your application process or answer questions!

WHAT IS AN ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES?

The associates degree in General Studies is for students who wish to complete a two-year college degree without concentrating in a particular area. The program offers flexibility to those seeking to obtain a better job or qualify for certain entry-level positions. The associates degree in General Studies is also intended for international students who require an English as a Second Language program to prepare for bachelor degree studies.

EASILY TRANSITION TO A BACHELOR'S PROGRAM

English student

Students can easily transition from one of FinnU’s associates degree in general studies into a bachelors degree program. Whether you want to explore a career in Art & Design, Arts & Sciences, Business, or Health Sciences, our faculty and staff will help you get to where you want to be academically. Learn more about the Finlandia majors available here.

ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES DEGREE

Progress Sheet

THE CLASSES

Course Offerings

GENERAL STUDIES IN THE NEWS

Kendi’s “Stamped From the Beginning” selected as Campus Read, Anti-Racist Open Classroom Series Announced

January 18, 2021

The Campus Read Committee is pleased to announce the Spring 2021 Anti-Racist Open Classroom Series, which will complement the selected Campus Read book, Stamped From the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi.

“We chose Stamped from the Beginning and Stamped as the Campus Read books for this year because Ibram X. Kendi’s work as a historian of racist ideas and antiracism can help provide such a powerful tool with which to think about history and about America’s present moment,” […] Read More

Scholarship Spotlight: Shane Voldarski, Criminal Justice Major

December 01, 2020

Shane Voldarski is a criminal justice major at from Ontonagon, Mich. and recipient of the UP Commitment and Finlandia Merit Scholarships. Below is an interview between Voldarski and Amanda Staege about how scholarships have impacted their experience. 

Tell me a little about yourself and your family. Where did you grow up- what was that experience like? 

I am a first generation college student, and grew up in Ontonagon, about 45 minutes away from Finlandia. My childhood wasn’t the easiest, I […] Read More

Dr. Broemer to Present in the 18th Annual Maple Leaf & Eagle Conference at the University of Helsinki in Dec.

November 24, 2020

Suomi College of Arts & Sciences adjunct professor Dr. Marlene Broemer received her doctorate from the University of Helsinki in Comparative Literature and will return to her alma mater virtually for the biennial Maple Leaf and Eagle Conference in North American Studies. Dr. Broemer’s doctoral studies were on the works of the modernist Finnish poet, Edith Södergran and the Russian, Anna Akhmatova, at the time of the Finnish Civil War […] Read More

LEARNING OUTCOMES

  • Communication: Research, write, and communicate with clarity using written, verbal, and technological communication skills.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking/Creative Insight: Critically examine complex problems and analyze potential solutions.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking: Perform basic computation and problem solving.
  • Personal Perspective/Global Perspective: Recognize connections among the diverse populations inherent in a multicultural world.

LEARN MORE TODAY!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly to help you schedule a visit, start your application process or answer questions!

Faculty and Staff

Natalia Borgen

Administrative Assistant, ISB & SCAS

natalia.borgen@finlandia.edu

Trisha Colling

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

trisha.colling@finlandia.edu

Fredi de Yampert

Vice President for Academic Affairs; Nursing Program Chair

fredi.deyampert@finlandia.edu

Carolyn Dekker

Assistant Professor, English

carolyn.dekker@finlandia.edu

Corbin Eddy

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy

corbin.eddy@finlandia.edu

Richard Gee

Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

richard.gee@finlandia.edu

Leslie Griffith

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

leslie.griffith@finlandia.edu

Patricia Grosse

Assistant Professor in Philosophy

Patricia.Grosse@finlandia.edu

Rene Johnson

Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy; and Director, Servant Leadership

rene.johnson@finlandia.edu

William Knoblauch

Associate Professor, History

william.knoblauch@finlandia.edu

Mark Lounibos

Associate Professor, English

mark.lounibos@finlandia.edu

Juan Marin

Associate Professor, Mathematics

juan.marin@finlandia.edu

Nathan Miller

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

nathan.miller@finlandia.edu

Jason Oyadomari

Associate Professor of Biology & Dean of Suomi College of Arts and Sciences

jason.oyadomari@finlandia.edu

Michael Reay

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Michael.Reay@finlandia.edu

Hilary-Joy Virtanen

Assistant Professor, Finnish & Nordic Studies; Chair, Institutional Review Board

hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu
COVID-19 Plans, News & ResourcesLatest Updates
Apply Now!