Arts & Sciences

Associates in General Studies

Associates in General Studies

Earn your A.G.S. and open the door to numerous opportunities

LEARN MORE TODAY!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly.

WHAT IS AN ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES?

The associates degree in General Studies is for students who wish to complete a two-year college degree without concentrating in a particular area. The program offers flexibility to those seeking to obtain a better job or qualify for certain entry-level positions. The associates degree in General Studies is also intended for international students who require an English as a Second Language program to prepare for bachelor degree studies.

EASILY TRANSITION TO A BACHELOR'S PROGRAM

English student

Students can easily transition from one of FinnU’s associates degree in general studies into a bachelors degree program. Whether you want to explore a career in Art & Design, Arts & Sciences, Business, or Health Sciences, our faculty and staff will help you get to where you want to be academically. Learn more about the Finlandia majors available here.

ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES DEGREE

Progress Sheet

THE CLASSES

Course Offerings

GENERAL STUDIES IN THE NEWS

Finlandia Top Liberal Arts School Great Value
Finlandia Named a Top 30 Liberal Arts College in the Midwest

February 06, 2020

Finlandia University has been named a Top 30 Liberal Arts College in the Midwest according to Great Value Colleges.

“Finlandia is honored to be included in the list of the Top 30 Liberal Arts Colleges in the Midwest, as presented by Great Value College,” said Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Fredi deYampert. “Finlandia is indeed a great value. We are the only liberal arts university in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Our tuition is competitive and the quality of […] Read More

Amanda Maleche Family
How FinnU’s Servant Leadership Program Changed the Course of Amanda Maleche’s (’12) Life

October 16, 2019

Amanda Maleche (’12) with her husband, a Michigan Tech alumnus, and three daughters. Maleche connected with her husband, who is from Kenya, over her passion for African culture after having gone on the Service Learning Trip to Tanzania through FinnU.

Leading the Pride continues in the month of October by talking with Liberal Arts alumna and Executive Director at Anthology Senior Living, Amanda Maleche (’12). Maleche, who transferred to FinnU after two years at the University of Michigan-Flint […] Read More

Finnish ties grow stronger with Administrative Assistant Natalia Borgen

August 20, 2019

Finlandia University is pleased to welcome Natalia Borgen to the FinnU family. Borgen is serving as the Administrative Assistant for Suomi College of Arts & Sciences (SCAS) and International School of Business (ISB).

Originally from Helsinki, Finland, Borgen came to Finlandia as an exchange student in 2013. As a student from Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences she studied in an international degree program for multilingual administrative assistants. After getting […] Read More

LEARNING OUTCOMES

  • Communication: Research, write, and communicate with clarity using written, verbal, and technological communication skills.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking/Creative Insight: Critically examine complex problems and analyze potential solutions.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking: Perform basic computation and problem solving.
  • Personal Perspective/Global Perspective: Recognize connections among the diverse populations inherent in a multicultural world.

LEARN MORE TODAY!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly.

Faculty and Staff

Natalia Borgen

Administrative Assistant, ISB & SCAS

natalia.borgen@finlandia.edu

Trisha Colling

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

trisha.colling@finlandia.edu

Fredi de Yampert

Vice President for Academic Affairs; Nursing Program Chair

fredi.deyampert@finlandia.edu

Carolyn Dekker

Assistant Professor, English

carolyn.dekker@finlandia.edu

Corbin Eddy

Visiting Campus Pastor
Adjunct Professor of Philosophy

corbin.eddy@finlandia.edu

Richard Gee

Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

richard.gee@finlandia.edu

Leslie Griffith

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

leslie.griffith@finlandia.edu

Patricia Grosse

Assistant Professor in Philosophy

Patricia.Grosse@finlandia.edu

Rene Johnson

Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy; and Director, Servant Leadership

rene.johnson@finlandia.edu

Ashok Khanal

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Ashok.Khanal@finlandia.edu

William Knoblauch

Associate Professor, History

william.knoblauch@finlandia.edu

Matthew Laird

Visiting Instructor, Mathematics

matthew.Laird@finlandia.edu

Mark Lounibos

Associate Professor, English

mark.lounibos@finlandia.edu

Juan Marin

Associate Professor, Mathematics

juan.marin@finlandia.edu

Nathan Miller

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

nathan.miller@finlandia.edu

Jason Oyadomari

Associate Professor of Biology & Dean of Suomi College of Arts and Sciences

jason.oyadomari@finlandia.edu

Michael Reay

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Michael.Reay@finlandia.edu

Joe Slocum

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

joe.slocum@finlandia.edu

Hilary-Joy Virtanen

Assistant Professor, Finnish & Nordic Studies; Chair, Institutional Review Board

hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu