fbpx
Arts & Sciences

Associates in General Studies

Associates in General Studies

Earn your A.G.S. and open the door to numerous opportunities

 

Learn More Today!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly to help you schedule a visit, start your application process or answer questions!

WHAT IS AN ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES?

The associates degree in General Studies is for students who wish to complete a two-year college degree without concentrating in a particular area. The program offers flexibility to those seeking to obtain a better job or qualify for certain entry-level positions. The associates degree in General Studies is also intended for international students who require an English as a Second Language program to prepare for bachelor degree studies.

EASILY TRANSITION TO A BACHELOR'S PROGRAM

English student

Students can easily transition from one of FinnU’s associates degree in general studies into a bachelors degree program. Whether you want to explore a career in Art & Design, Arts & Sciences, Business, or Health Sciences, our faculty and staff will help you get to where you want to be academically. Learn more about the Finlandia majors available here.

ASSOCIATES IN GENERAL STUDIES DEGREE

Progress Sheet

THE CLASSES

Course Offerings

GENERAL STUDIES IN THE NEWS

Finlandia signs articulation agreement with Concordia Wisconsin School of Pharmacy

April 05, 2021

A new agreement between Concordia University Wisconsin’s School of Pharmacy and Finlandia University gives students the opportunity to obtain a bachelor’s degree and a CUW PharmD degree, and save a year of studies in the process.

Finlandia University is excited to announce the signing of a 3+4 dual degree agreement with the Concordia University Wisconsin (CUW), located in Mequon, Wisc. In the program, students will spend three years in a Bachelor of Science in Biology program at Finlandia fulfilling […] Read More

New articulation agreement with NMU provides clear pathway to MSW

February 10, 2021

Finlandia University is excited to announce a new articulation agreement between FinnU and Northern Michigan University that will provide a clear pathway for students interested in pursing a Master’s of Social Work degree.

“We developed this partnership so that any students in those PsychologySociology or Criminal Justice majors can then qualify for what we’re calling the Early Assurance Program into Northern’s MSW program,” said Dr. Jason Oyadomari, Dean of the Suomi College of Arts & Sciences.

While the agreement won’t guarantee FinnU […] Read More

Kendi’s “Stamped From the Beginning” selected as Campus Read, Anti-Racist Open Classroom Series Announced

January 18, 2021

The Campus Read Committee is pleased to announce the Spring 2021 Anti-Racist Open Classroom Series, which will complement the selected Campus Read book, Stamped From the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi.

“We chose Stamped from the Beginning and Stamped as the Campus Read books for this year because Ibram X. Kendi’s work as a historian of racist ideas and antiracism can help provide such a powerful tool with which to think about history and about America’s present moment,” […] Read More

LEARNING OUTCOMES

  • Communication: Research, write, and communicate with clarity using written, verbal, and technological communication skills.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking/Creative Insight: Critically examine complex problems and analyze potential solutions.
  • Analytical and Critical Thinking: Perform basic computation and problem solving.
  • Personal Perspective/Global Perspective: Recognize connections among the diverse populations inherent in a multicultural world.

LEARN MORE TODAY!

Fill out the form below and our staff will be in touch with you shortly to help you schedule a visit, start your application process or answer questions!

Faculty and Staff

Natalia Borgen

Administrative Assistant, ISB & SCAS

natalia.borgen@finlandia.edu

Trisha Colling

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

trisha.colling@finlandia.edu

Fredi de Yampert

Vice President for Academic Affairs; Nursing Program Chair

fredi.deyampert@finlandia.edu

Carolyn Dekker

Assistant Professor, English

carolyn.dekker@finlandia.edu

Corbin Eddy

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy

corbin.eddy@finlandia.edu

Richard Gee

Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

richard.gee@finlandia.edu

Leslie Griffith

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

leslie.griffith@finlandia.edu

Rene Johnson

Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy; and Director, Servant Leadership

rene.johnson@finlandia.edu

William Knoblauch

Associate Professor, History

william.knoblauch@finlandia.edu

Mark Lounibos

Associate Professor, English

mark.lounibos@finlandia.edu

Juan Marin

Associate Professor, Mathematics

juan.marin@finlandia.edu

Nathan Miller

Adjunct Instructor for Arts & Sciences

nathan.miller@finlandia.edu

Jason Oyadomari

Associate Professor of Biology & Dean of Suomi College of Arts and Sciences

jason.oyadomari@finlandia.edu

Michael Reay

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Michael.Reay@finlandia.edu

Hilary-Joy Virtanen

Assistant Professor, Finnish & Nordic Studies; Chair, Institutional Review Board

hilary.virtanen@finlandia.edu
COVID-19 Plans, News & ResourcesLatest Updates
Apply Now!