fbpx
Students in field

North Wind Books to host Angeline Boulley, author of NYT Bestseller “Firekeeper’s Daughter”

September 23, 2021

North Wind Books at Finlandia University will be hosting Angeline Boulley, author of New York Times Bestseller “Firekeeper’s Daughter”, for an author presentation and book signing on Thursday, September 30 starting at 3 p.m.

Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. She is a former director of the Office of Indian Education in the U.S. Department of Education. Boulley lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island in Sault. Ste. Marie, MI. “Firekeeper’s Daughter” is her debut novel and was an instant #1 NYT Bestseller.

With four starred reviews, Boulley’s debut novel, “Firekeeper’s Daughter”, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. “Firekeeper’s Daughter” is set in the Upper Peninsula and soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama’s production company, Higher Ground.

“North Wind Books is humbled that Angeline has made time in her schedule to discuss Firekeeper’s Daughter, with our campus and community members. Firekeeper’s Daughter remains #1 for Youth Titles in the Midwest as well as Great Lakes regions,” April Stevens, North Wind Books Manager, said. “I hope the reader will have an appreciation for the Native American culture which holds a rich and valuable part of our local Michigan history.”

Tags: , , , , , ,
COVID-19 Updates & InformationClick Here To learn More!
+