Students in field

Finlandia University Academic Calendar 2016-2017

First Semester – Fall 2016

August 25, Thursday

Residence hall opens for incoming students

August 25-26, Thursday-Friday

New Student/Family Welcome Events

August 26-28, Friday-Sunday

New Student Orientation

August 26, Friday

Residence Hall opens for returning students

August 29, Monday

Classes begin

September 2, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4:30 pm

September 5, Monday

No classes (Labor Day)

September 30, Friday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4:30 pm

October 18, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3:00 pm

October 21, Friday

Second half semester classes begin

October 25, Tuesday

Drop/add period ends (2nd half semester classes) 4:30 pm

November 3, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4:30 pm

November 23-27, Wednesday-Sunday

Thanksgiving Break (after last class Tuesday)

November 28, Monday

Classes resume
End of “W” period (2nd half semester classes) 4:30 pm

December 12-16, Monday-Friday

Final Exam Week
End of semester, Friday, December 16

December 18, Sunday

Residence hall closes at noon

December 20, Tuesday

Final Semester Grades due online 3:00 pm

Second Semester – Spring 2017

January 5, Thursday

Residence hall opens for incoming students

January 8, Sunday

Residence hall opens for returning students

January 9, Monday

Classes begin

January 13, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4:30 pm

January 16, Monday

MLK Day of Service–No regular classes

February 10, Friday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4:30 pm

February 24, Friday

Spring Break (after last class)
Residence hall closes at noon, Saturday

February 28, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3:00 pm

March 5, Sunday

Residence hall opens at 9:00 am

March 6, Monday

Classes resume

March 9, Thursday

Second half semester classes begin

March 13, Monday

Drop/add period ends (2nd half semester classes) 4:30 pm

March 23, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4:30 pm

April 14, Friday

No classes; campus closed (Good Friday)

Monday, April 17

End of “W” period (2nd half semester classes) 4:30 pm

April 21, Friday

Honors Banquet

April 24-April 28, Monday-Friday

Final Exam Week
End of semester, Friday, April 28

April 30, Sunday

Baccalaureate/Commencement
Residence hall closes at 6:00 pm

May 2, Tuesday

Final Semester Grades due online 3:00 pm

Summer 2017 8-Week Semester Calendar

Summer 2017 Summer Bridge Calendar

 

2016-17 Catalog

2016-17 Catalog toggle menu