Students in field

Finlandia University Academic Calendar 2018-19

First Semester – Fall 2018

August 23, THURSDAY

Residence hall opens for incoming students

August 23-25, Thursday – Saturday

New Student Orientation

August 24, Friday

Residence hall opens for returning students

August 27, Monday

Classes begin

August 31, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4 p.m.

September 3, Monday

No classes (Labor Day)

October 1, Monday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4 p.m.

October 16, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3 p.m.
First-half class final grades due online 3 p.m.

October 17, Wednesday

Second-half semester classes begin

October 19, Friday

Drop/add period ends (2nd half semester classes) 4 p.m.

November 1, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4 p.m.

NOVEMBER 17, sATURDAY

Residence hall closes at noon

November 19-23 Monday-Friday

Thanksgiving Break

november 25, Sunday

Residence hall opens at 9:00 a.m.

November 26, Monday

Classes resume

November 27, Tuesday

End of “W” period (2nd half semester classes) 4 p.m.

December 10-14, Monday-Friday

Final Exam Week

December 14, Friday

End of Semester

December 16, Sunday

Residence hall closes at noon

December 18, Tuesday

Final semester grades due online 3 p.m.

Second Semester – Spring 2019

January 11, friday

Residence hall opens for incoming students

January 13, Sunday

Residence hall opens for returning students

January 14, Monday

Classes begin

January 18, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4 p.m.

January 21, Monday

MLK Day of Service – No regular classes

February 14, Thursday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4 p.m.

March 5, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3 p.m.
First-half class final grades due online 3 p.m.

March 6, Wednesday

Second half semester classes begin

March 8, Friday

Drop/add period ends (second-half semester classes) 4 p.m.
Spring break begins after last class

March 9, Saturday

Residence hall closes at noon

March 17, Sunday

Residence hall opens at 9 a.m.

March 18, monday

Classes resume

March 28, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4 p.m.

April 8, Monday

End of “W” period (second-half semester classes) 4 p.m.

April 12, Friday

Honors & Awards Banquet

April 19, Friday

No classes; campus closed (Good Friday)

April 29-May 3, Monday-Friday

Final examweek

May 3, Friday

End of semester

May 5, Sunday

Baccalaureate/Commencement
Residence hall closes at 6 p.m.

May 7, Tuesday

Final semester grades due online 3 p.m.

Last edited: Friday, July 13, 2018

Campus Catalog

Campus Catalog toggle menu