Students in field

Finlandia University Academic Calendar 2017-2018

First Semester – Fall 2017

August 24, Thursday

Residence hall opens for incoming students

August 24-25, Thursday & Friday

New Student/Family Welcome Events

August 25-26, Friday & Saturday

New Student Orientation

August 26,Saturday

Residence Hall opens for returning students

August 28, Monday

Classes begin

September 1, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4:00 pm

September 4, Monday

No classes (Labor Day)

October 2, Monday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4:00 pm

October 17, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3:00 pm
First-half class final grades due online 3:00 p.m.

October 20, Friday

Second half semester classes begin

October 24, Tuesday

Drop/add period ends (2nd half semester classes) 4:00 pm

November 2, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4:00 pm

November 22-26 Wednesday-Sunday

Thanksgiving Break (after last class Tuesday)

November 27, Monday

Classes resume
End of “W” period (2nd half semester classes) 4:00 pm

December 11-15, Monday-Friday

Final Exam Week
End of semester, Friday, December 15

December 17, Sunday

Residence hall closes at noon

December 19, Tuesday

Final Semester Grades due online 3:00 pm

Second Semester – Spring 2018

January 6, Saturday

Residence hall opens for incoming students

January 7, Sunday

Residence hall opens for returning students

January 8, Monday

Classes begin

January 12, Friday

Drop/add period ends (full semester) 4:00 pm

January 15, Monday

MLK Day of Service – No regular classes

February 9, Friday

End of “W” period (1st half semester classes) 4:00 pm

February 27, Tuesday

Mid-semester grades due online 3:00 pm
First-half class final grades due online 3:00 p.m.

February 28, Wednesday

Second half semester classes begin

March 2, Friday

Drop/add period ends (2nd half semester classes) 4:00 p.m.

March 2, friday

Spring Break (after last class)
Residence hall closes at noon, Saturday

March 11, Sunday

Residence hall opens at 9:00 a.m.

March 12, monday

Classes resume

March 22, Thursday

End of “W” period (full semester) 4:00 pm

March 30, Friday

No classes; campus closed (Good Friday)

April 11, Wednesday

End of “W” period (2nd half semester classes) 4:00 pm

April 13, Friday

Honors Banquet

April 23-April 27, Monday-Friday

Final Exam Week
End of semester, Friday, April 27

April 29, Sunday

Baccalaureate/Commencement
Residence hall closes at 6:00 pm

May 1, Tuesday

Final Semester Grades due online 3:00 pm

Last edited: Tuesday, August 22, 2017.

2017-18 Catalog

2017-18 Catalog toggle menu